Homemade Chocolate Milk Mix Recipe

Don’t ya just get tired of buying processed chocolate milk mixes that contain HFCS, lots of sugar, soy and other unhealthy substances? Me too! I feel guilty every time I give it to my kids, yet I can’t deny them a nice cold glass of creamy, chocolaty, goodness. So today I thought I might try something new, something that has been floating around in the back of my mind for a while now. Cocoa Powder.

The problem with cocoa powder is that it doesn’t blend with milk like the name-brand powder stuff does…which is why we end up buying it, right? So that was a problem I needed to solve. I have made hot chocolate before using cocoa powder, sugar, milk and vanilla, heated on the stovetop (which is wonderful and I highly recommend it) but I really didn’t want to get into all that heating and cooling for cold chocolate milk. So the first thing I tried was putting two or three tablespoons of milk in a glass and heating it in the microwave until hot. Then two tsp of cocoa and two servings of stevia (I currently use Kal brand). It did turn out good and was approved by the kids but they were unhappy with the cocoa powder gunk that settled at the bottom of the glass.

Let me just interject here with a plug for stevia. I quit using sugar in drinks about 3 or 4 years ago. For the longest time I used a brand of stevia in little packets with maltodextrin in it. I have since found that maltodextrin is not very healthy. I have tried a few different brands (Sweet Leaf and Kal) in the really potent form as well as liquids and just about every packet out there. I don’t recommend the packets, most have an awful aftertaste and have other things mixed in with them. As far as the potent powders (1/40th tsp= 1 tsp sugar) Sweet Leaf was hard to measure but otherwise good. Kal comes with a super tiny spoon to measure it. They both blend well in my coffee and tea, and the flavor is good. Now that I have the spoon from the Kal brand I will probably buy either. The liquid brand is good, some brands though take a lot to sweeten anything. I have found that when you start using stevia it has a bit of an aftertaste, especially with certain brands, but once you get used to it you don’t even notice it. Stevia is a healthy and natural alternative to sugar and if you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend it. You can read up on the health benefits of stevia here.

Ok, I’m done with my stevia “commercial”. Thanks for listening. :0)

So here’s the recipe and directions that I settled on.

HOMEMADE COLD CHOCOLATE MILK

1 cup milk
2-3 tsp cocoa
1 1/2 servings stevia or 2 tsp sugar (more or less to taste)

Put the milk in a blender. I prefer to use the magic bullet since it’s compact and easy to clean up—and you can even drink right out of the cup. :0) add the cocoa and sweetener of choice. Blend well. This will incorporate the powder with the milk enough that it doesn’t end up as a brown slurry at the bottom of the glass. I make a few servings at a time and put it in a container in the fridge. Just make sure you give it quick shake before serving.

For dark chocolate lovers, try the dark chocolate cocoa. I tried it too…yum!

This isn’t just healthy but saves a ton of money.
A container of powdered Nesquick is 38 servings and costs around $4.00. A container of cocoa powder (8 oz.) is anywhere from 45-67 servings (depending on whether you use 2 or 3 tsp per 8 oz. of milk) and if you use the concentrated stevia, even though it costs around $15.00 on average, it lasts forever, so it will be no more than $1.00 to sweeten those 65 servings.

Here’s the breakdown:
NESQUIK @ $5.00 – $6.00 for 38 servings = $.131 – $.157
HOMEMADE WITH HERSHEY’S @ $5.00 maximum for 67 servings = $.074
HOMEMADE W/ BAKER’S CORNER FROM ALDI @ approximately $2.50 for 67 servings = $.052 (I’m guessing on the price and I will try to remember to check next time I’m there.)

Note: Some blog reviews I saw did not recommend Aldi’s brand, I tasted little difference and I tried both back to back since I had both in the pantry, but if you have a discerning palate, you might want to stick with Hershey’s brand.

So, the health benefits plus the price = win-win!

Now if I could only find local raw-milk for (much) less than $10.00 a gallon I would be one happy mama!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Milk Mix Recipe

  1. I recently read that chocolate milk is one of the healthiest and least expensive recovery drinks after a run… and found your recipe after a quick search.
    I can’t wait to try it!
    Thanks for the cost details too!
    Debbi

Leave a Reply

